12/10 Lively Snowmen

Dec 10 – I’ve made a small game out of choosing Christmas socks. I’ll put my arm into the big decorative tin can where I keep them, sort around and pull out my pair of the day. I never know what to expect. Today, it was lively snowmen. At one time, this big tin was filled with three types of popcorn, instead of socks. I have a love/hate relationship with popcorn. It gives me migraines, but I eat it anyway. What’s that saying about insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results? I expect the migraine after I eat popcorn, but at Christmas, the headaches come beforehand. We’re let down because a snow storm ruined the live Nativity scene at the church and caused Uncle Fred’s plane to be delayed. And worst of all, the grocery store was out of roasts for Christmas dinner! But didn’t the sight of Grandpa cutting into that turducken make for a good memory? We can dial back our expectations. By going with the flow, we can better appreciate the next pair of socks that comes out of the bucket.

IMG_7967

Leave a Reply

